Tags

, , , , ,

£30 party challenge done!This is long overdue, but finally it’s here: how to throw a fabulous party for under £30 – without buying cheap, garish tat. Think it’s possible? Well last month I put it to the test and threw a fabulous child’s party for six children for only £27.42.

It took a lot of thought and careful consideration of my general household waste. A lot of what I throw out can be reused. Instead of making a few online purchases and having a full box arrive packed with colourful, pretty partyware, I had to consider each and every item and it had to meet my budget.

It can be done – a gorgeous and incredibly rewarding child’s party can be achieved for under £30, and here’s how I did it:

Party decorations: cost £2.70

our giant handmade pinwheel!

our giant handmade pinwheel!

Giant pinwheel and smaller hanging pinwheels

Materials – Brown paper, card

The giant pinwheel took a little over an hour to make, but oh boy, it was certainly a show-stopper. See my post here about it in further detail. It’s easy to make, simply cut a couple of metres of brown paper and fold it – like you would a fan – until you have enough to join each end (I stapled mine) to make a large round pinwheel. I used my paper punch (flower shaped) to punch out card and attach a flower to the centre. I used thread to attach it to a hook on the wall. This is definitely a recommended party make – and brown paper costs pennies! You could also use beautiful bold wrapping paper instead… if you’re willing to fork out a little extra.

£30 party challengeFresh flowers in mini vases

Materials – Used spice jars, A4 card, brown paper

My little girl and I wandered around the village to pick flowers and popped them into used spice jars. We’d decorated the jars by cutting strips of brown paper, winding them around the jars and then sticking on  card flowers with small adhesive rhinestone gems in the centres (these were unearthed from her stationery box!)

party food

party food

Party food – £12.90

The party food was simple and not in excess. Here’s the menu:

Sandwiches: jam; ham; cheese {cut into squares, wrapped in brown paper and card and tied with raffia}

Fruit: strawberries, grapes {served on plastic platters wrapped in brown paper} 

Sweet: Cupcakes with home-made toppers and crisps {served on a cake stand and topped with DIY toppers – tutorial to follow soon!}

Drink: Chocolate milkshake *Tesco 1 litre carton* {served in recycled plastic fruit juice bottles with paper straws, which I had left over from a previous party}

DIY table confetti

DIY table confetti

Table cover – £2.50

I used a roll of bright yellow gift wrap to lay across the sideboard where the food was placed – better than a tablecloth! I also used a paper punch to create table confetti – the punch was party hat shaped.

diy party hatsParty hats – £2.40

I used colourful card to make these party hats, see the story here.

retro party sweetsParty bags – £6.92

We chose a selection of retro sweets and filled six cello bags then tied them with raffia and pretty ribbon.

photo booth propsPhoto booth props – £2.40

We used a couple of sheets of card and cut out various shaped moustaches and sunglasses then taped them to wooden skewers. I popped them into a recycled tall pasta sauce jar – which was decorated like the spice jars!

Well there it is. If you decide to do the same please do let me know. Thanks for reading!